About "ON THE EDGE"

Sakhalin is a place on the edge of the Earth, and it’s one of the most beautiful places on the Earth. But a contemporary world has no edges and no boundaries.

Every corner of the world echoes back different events of our life. And cultural events too. These events happen everywhere simultaneously. Or film festival is an echo of the big world of cinema that resonates on the edge of the world. At the same time, our film festival embodies the answer of the East to the questions of the West.


2014.jpg

We bring the latest news from Cannes, Berlin and Venice to Sakhalin where they meet the news of Asian cinema. Europe is the question. Asia is the answer. The world has long turned into a global village, but it doesn’t mean that there is no place for cultural originality in this world.

The festival is organised under the auspices of the Governor of the Sakhalin region. Established by the Culture Ministry of the Sakhalin region. Implemented by the State Autonomous Culture Organisation “Sakhalin Cinema Union.” Produced by IDI Pro LLC.

О фестивале «КРАЙ СВЕТА»

2014.jpg

Сахалин — это место на краю Земли, одно из самых красивых на этой Земле. Но у современного мира нет края... Уникальные места, уникальный опыт, уникальные герои — вот девиз нашего фестиваля.

События нашей жизни, в том числе и культурной, отзываются эхом во всех уголках мира. Они происходят везде и одновременно. Наш фестиваль — это эхо большого мира кино, которое звучит и на краю света. И в то же время это ответ, который дает Восток на вопросы Запада.

Мы приносим на Сахалин последние новости из Канн, Берлина и Венеции и сталкиваем их с новостями азиатского кинематографа. Европа — это вопрос. Азия — это ответ. Мир давно уже превратился в «глобальную деревню», но это не значит, что в нем нет места культурному своеобразию.

Кинофестиваль проводится под патронатом Губернатора Сахалинской области. Учредитель: Министерство культуры и архивного дела Сахалинской области. Исполнители: государственное автономное учреждение культуры «Сахалинское кинодосуговое объединение».