Vadim Abdrashitov
President of Jury   

Director. People’s Artist of Russian Federation, professor of VGIK. Born in 1945 in Kharkov. Graduated from Moscow chemical-technological institute (1967), worked as an engineer. Then graduated from directing department of VGIK (1974), student of Mikhail Romm and Lev Kulidjanov. Since 1974 – film director of the “Mosfilm” studio. Selected filmography: “A Word in Defence” (1976, Komsomol State Prize), “A Train Stopped” (1982, State Prize name after Brothers Vasiliev), “Parade of Planets” (1984), “Plumbum or Dangerous Game” (1986, The President of the Italian Senate's Gold Medal, Venice IFF), “The Servant” (1988, State Prize of USSR, Alfred Bauer Award and SIGNIS Award, Berlinale), “A Piece for a Passenger” (1995, Silver Bear of Berlinale, Grand-prix of Panorama Competition at ORFF “Kinotavr”), “Time of the Dancer” (1997, winner of ORFF “Kinotavr”, Special prize at Locarno IFF), “Magnetic Storms” (2003, Russian Government State Prize, “Nika” Award and “Golden Eagle” Award in “Best Director” Category, other prizes and awards). Laureate of President’s Prize (2003), laureate of “Nika” Award for outstanding contribution in cinema. Was the jury member of the international and national film festivals.

Gulnara Abikeyeva 
Member of Jury   

Artistic director of the “Eurasia” IFF in Almaty, film critic and film researcher. Graduated from film history faculty of VGIK (1984), obtained PhD (1990). Was Editor-in-Chief of the film magazines “Asia-kino”, “Territoriya Kino”, made TV programmes on cinema, and taught film history and film theory at the Kazakh Academy of the Arts. Was a Fulbright scholar at Bowdoin College, read lectures in Pittsburgh University and made presentation in Harvard, Yale, Tafts Universities in USA. She is the author of ten books on the cinema of Kazakhstan and Central Asia which gained her a number of prizes and awards. As a member of FIPRESCI and NETPAC she was jury member on different international film festivals.

Amit Kumar
Member of Jury  

Director, scriptwriter. Graduated in film direction at the Indian national film school, FTII, in Pune. His student short film “Judgment Day” brought him a grant from the Chicago Artists International Programme. His short film “The Bypass” received its world premiere at the Edinburgh IFF-2003. It won the Kodak BAFTA showcase as well as many other awards at other film events. He went on to write and direct documentaries, commercials and serials for television, was associate director and the second unit director on international features. “Monsoon Shootout” is his first feature film.

Sergei Puskepalis
Member of Jury

Stage director, film and theater actor. Distinguished Artist of Russian Federation (1999). Born in 1966 in Kursk. Graduated from Saratov theater school (Yuri Kiselev’s workshop). Worked at Saratov Theater for Youth for ten years. In 2001 graduated from Russian Academy of Theater Art (Petr Fomenko’s workshop of directing). Directed plays in Moscow at “Petr Fomenko Theater” and Oleg Tabakov’ Studio – Theater, worked at other Russian cities. Was the senior staging director at Magnitogorsk Drama Theater and Volkov Theater (Yaroslavl). His works as a film actor gained him “Nika” Award, Best Actor prizes at Berlinale, Karlovy Vary, Kinotavr and many others.

Sergei Shumakov
Member of Jury 

Chief editor of “Kultura” TV-channel, deputy director of Russian State TV&Radio Company (VGTRK), producer, film critic. Born in 1951. Graduated from film history faculty of VGIK. Worked at Research institute of film art, later at film program department of “Ostankino” TV company. Was the top manager of major Russian TV channels like ORT, NTV, VGTRK. Was the producer of following notable films and series: “Idiot”, “Taras Bulba”, “The Island”, “We Are from the Future”, “Liquidation”, “Paper Soldier”, “Lilac’s Brunch”, “Russian Game”, “Vanechka” and others. Laureate of State Prize of Russian Federation (2011), chevalier of Order of Friendship.