153 min., col., language — Georgian, Russian, Italian, German 

Director Tengiz Abuladze
Scriptwriters Nana Djanelidze, Tengiz Abuladze
DoP Mikhail Agranovich
Production Design Giorgi Mikeladze
Music Editor Nana Djanelidze
Editing Guliko Omadze
Cast Avtandil Makharadze, Iya Ninidze, Zeinab Botsvadze, Ketevan Abuladze, Adisher Giorgiani, Merab Ninidze, Kakhi Kavsadze, Nino Zakariadze, Veriko Andjaparidze
Narration Mikhail Kvlividze
Production Gruzia Film
Distribution (RF) Ruscico

The final part of the film trilogy, started by the films «The Plea» and «The Wishing Tree».
Once the victims of the totalitarian regime were the artist Sandro Barateli and his wife. Years later, their daughter Keti avenges her parents. The tyrant and dictator will not find peace even after his death.

  • Nika Awards for Best film, Best director, Best script, Best cinematography, Best design and Best actor for 1988
  • State Lenin prize for 1988
  • Jury grand-prix, FIPRESCI Prize and ecumenical jury prize, Cannes-1987
  • Special jury prize and best actor prize, Chicago IFF-1987
  • Special prize, Haugesund IFF-1987
  • Best film, all-Union film festival in Tbilisi-1987
  • Other prizes and awards

Director, scriptwriter. People’s Artist of USSR, laureate of Lenin prize, Shota Rustaveli prize and many others. Cavalier of Order of Red Banner of Labour. Born in Kutaisi in 1924. Studied theatrical direction at the Shota Rustaveli Theatre Institute in Tbilisi, Georgia (class of G. Tovstonogov and D. Aleksidze), at 1953 graduated from director’s faculty of the VGIK (workshop of S. Yutkevich). In 1953 joined Georgia Film Studios as a director. Made documentaries in co-working with Rezo Chkheidze. Also in this co-operation Abuladze directed his first short film «Lurdzha Magdany» (1955). It won the Best fiction film — Short at Cannes-1956 and special diploma at Edinburg. Made his feature debut in 1958 with «Other People’s Children» (main prize of London IFF-1960, prize at Paretto-Terma IFF and others). Directorial works (full-length features only): «Me, Grandma, Iliko and Illarion» (1963), «The Plea» (1967, Grand-prix at San-Remo IFF-1973), «A Necklace for My Beloved» (1971, prizes of all-USSR film festivals in Tbilisi and Kyev), «The Wishing Tree» (1977; David di Donatello Award for Best foreign film, Best director prize at Tehran IFF, Special prize at Karlovy Vary IFF-1978), «Repentance» (1984). Abuladze was one of the initiators of the creation of the film faculty in the Tbilisi Theater University, he conducted a course of direction there.