Let There Be Light

img
12+
2017, Canada-France-Italy-Switzerland-USA
90 min., col., language — English

Directors Mila Aung-Thwin, Van Royko 
Scriptwriter Mila Aung-Thwin
DoP Van Royko 
Music Trevor Anderson
Editing Mila Aung-Thwin, Gilda Purjabar
Producers Bob Moore, Mila Aung-Thwin
Production Eye Steel Film
World Sales Submarine


In the southern French countryside, a group of dedicated scientists from 37 countries around the world are building an artificial star on Earth. Little it is known, that this idea first emerged on the island of Sakhalin in the 50s. If it works, it can lead the way to perpetual, cheap, clean energy for all mankind. If it fails, it will be one of the biggest scientific and political blunders of all time. Meanwhile, maverick inventors in garages are also trying to unlock nuclear fusion, but for a fraction of the cost. How close are we to achieving the holy grail of energy?

Artistic vision award, feuture competition, Big Sky documentary festival


MILA AUNG-THWIN 
Documentary producer and director. He has produced more than 25 feature documentaries, including «Up the Yangtze» (2007), «Forest of the Dancing Spirits» (2009), and the Emmy Award-winning «Last Train Home» (2009). He served as president for 5 years of RIDM, Montreal’s International documentary festival, as well as juror for the International Emmy Awards, AFI DOCS, the New Zealand Film Awards, and the Sundance Film Festival. He has also taught documentary film programs to emerging filmmakers in places such as Northern Canada, China and Myanmar.

VAN ROYKO
Director of photography, director. Over the course of his career as cinematographer Van has collaborated on projects ranging from advertising campaigns and music videos, to art installations and feature documentaries (best known for feature documentaries «Monsoon» (2014) and «Koneline» (2016). «Let there be light» is his directorial debut in feature documentary.

Да будет свет

img
12+
2017, Канада-Франция-Италия-Швейцария-США
90 мин., цвет., язык — английский


Режиссеры Мила Аунг-Твин, Ван Ройко
Автор сценария Мила Аунг-Твин
Оператор Ван Ройко
Музыка Тревор Андерсон
Монтаж Мила Аунг-Твин, Гильда Пурджабар
Продюсеры Боб Мур, Мила Аунг-Твин
Производство Eye Steel Film
Мировые права Submarine


В деревушке на юге Франции группа ученых-энтузиастов из 37 стран мира строит искусственную звезду. Мало кто знает, что эта идея впервые возникла на Сахалине в 50-е. Если сегодня она будет реализована, то может открыть путь человечеству к возобновляемой, дешевой и чистой энергии. А если нет — то станет одним из самых крупных научных и политических провалов за всю историю. Изобретатели-кустари в своих гаражах тоже пытаются раскрыть тайну ядерного синтеза, который будет стоить копейки. Насколько же близко мы подобрались к энергетическому граалю? 

Победитель полнометражной программы, Фестиваль документального кино Big Sky


МИЛА АУНГ-ТВИН
Продюсер и режиссер неигрового кино, педагог. Спродюсировал более 25 документальных лент, среди которых «Вверх по Янцзы» (2007), «Лес танцующих духов», «Последний поезд домой» (2009, премия «Эмми»). Пять лет возглавлял Монреальский фестиваль документального кино, входил в комитет премий «Эмми» и Новозеландской киноакадемии, участвовал в жюри AFI DOC и «Сандэнса». Преподавал кинодокументалистику в Канаде, Китае и Мьянме. 

ВАН РОЙКО
Оператор, режиссер. Как оператор работал на самых разных проектах: от съемки музыкальных видео и рекламы до арт-инсталляций и полнометражной документалистики (из последних: «Муссон» (2014) и «Коунлайн: наша земля прекрасна» (2026)). «Да будет свет» — его режиссерский дебют в полнометражном неигровом кино.

31 АВГУСТА, ЧЕТВЕРГ

Площадь: показы под открытым небом
  • 22:00Да будет свет (Канада, Франция, Италия, Швейцария, США), Реж. Мила Анг-Твин, Ван Ройко, 90', 12+, Q&A

1 СЕНТЯБРЯ, ПЯТНИЦА

Кинотеатр «Октябрь», большой зал
  • 16:00Да будет свет (Канада, Франция, Италия,Швейцария, США), Реж. Мила Анг-Твин, Ван Ройко, 90', 12+. Q&A в зале после показа.